Christopher Petraskie

My Experience:

June 2020 - Present

After graduating college I received an offer from Susquehanna to be their Web Developer. I gladly accepted and started working on July 8, 2020 during the COVID-19 pandemic and worked remote until August 3, 2020. This was a difficult time, especially because we had just hired four new assistant web developers who all needed to be trained from scratch. They were also trained through two weekly zoom meetings for several months and went through a series of LinkedIn learning courses. Along with this, the university partnered with LiveWhale for their calendar, and later decided to fully migrate to their content management system. This was also when our department integrated a new ticketing system, Team Dynamix.

Position Summary

2018 - 2020

Coming into the position of assistant web developer, I didn't know much about the position. I knew some basic HTML and did some w3schools tutorials to learn CSS and JavaScript. Then came the server side coding which really threw me for a loop for a while. However, I really enjoy coding in C# today and would say it is probably one of my favorite languages. I was mostly self taught, though I had another student programmer who gave me some tips and tricks along the way.

Position Summary

My Education:

Bachelor of Science: Computer Science

Susquehanna University, Selinsgrove, PA

May 2020

Cumulative GPA: 3.66/4.0

Relevant Coursework:
  • CSCI-181 Principles of Computer Science
  • CSCI-281 Data Structures
  • CSCI-282 Computer Organization
  • CSCI-301 Data Mining
  • CSCI-381 Algorithms
  • CSCI-391 Data Commun/Networks I
  • CSCI-392 Data Commun/Networks II
  • CSCI-460 Windows Programming
  • CSCI-481 Programming Languages
  • CSCI-483 Compiler Theory
  • CSCI-484 Computer Graphics
  • CSCI-486 Intro to Operating Systems
  • CSCI-487 Operating Systems
  • CSCI-488 Computer Architecture
  • CSCI-501 Parallel Computing
  • CSCI-501 Database Programming

Minor in Mathematics

Relevant Coursework:
  • MATH-111 Calculus I
  • MATH-112 Calculus II
  • MATH-180 Statistical Methods
  • MATH-201 Linear Algebra
  • MATH-221 Discrete Structures
  • MATH-353 Differential Equations

Study Abroad: Patagonia

Argentina, South America

January 2020

Submersed in a foreign culture to learn, study, and partake in various activities

About Me

I'm a web developer actively seeking opportunities to grow in my field and expand my knowledge in all areas of computer science. I started as a web developer the same way I assume most people would have, being born a 90's baby - through Myspace! I decided to sign up because my sister was always talking about it, and everyone seemed to have one. You could edit your own page just by copy and pasting some text from other websites! Or *blast* some music for everyone to hear when they view your page! There was SO much creativity on everyone's page. It still has a best friends feature, which was always the best way to start some unnecessary drama! Looking back on it, I believe it was the best social media created by far.

Things I Enjoy

One of the things I enjoy most in life is music. It doesn't matter what genre, I can listen to pretty much anything. But we all have our favorites, right? Don't get me wrong, I dabbled with a good bit of country in college and heard just about every oldie ever recorded from my parents, but for me nothing beats punk rock. My first concert ever was seeing Blink-182 for my sixteenth birthday, who still happens to be my favorite band. I started learning to play the guitar about five years ago and still really enjoy picking it up every now and then. I also really enjoy being active and playing sports. I played basketball and baseball from a very young age, and later found Track & Field to be my bread and butter. I was always an active kid and when it came time to test my athleticism, there wasn't really an event I couldn't see myself doing. Later in college, I became a seven event indoor athlete by participating in the heptathlon. My outdoor season was unexpectedly cut short by COVID-19, where I would have participated in ten events for the decathlon. It has been hard to find time in my post-collegiate career to continue working out at the level I loved to compete at, but I intend to get after it again in the near future.

Where I'm From

Since I was born, I've grown up in a small city in central Pennsylvania called Shamokin, PA. I graduated high school in 2016 and later began my first semester of college at Bucknell University. However, it did not take me long to realize that this was not the university I belonged to. This was when I decided to transfer to a university nearby, Susquehanna. I had been around Susquehanna nearly my entire life, from attending basketball tournaments to district championship track meets. It felt like home before I ever got there. I spent the rest of my undergrad there and earned my bachelor's degree in Computer Science.

Men's Indoor and Outdoor Track and Field

Susquehanna University, NCAA Division III

January 2017 - May 2020

I would say one of the most notable things I've done in my life so far has to have been my track career. I have absolutely loved competing in sports throughout my entire life. My favorites to play are basketball and baseball, but I quickly learned that my athleticism would take me much further in Track and Field. This lead to dedicating a large portion of time throughout high school and college to practicing and competing with my team. After about ten years, the highlight of my career, which was when I almost competed at the 2020 Men's NCAA Division III Track & Field Championships, was taken away by COVID-19. The link to my profile features some funny mustache pictures for my last conference championship meet and are a must see.

Career Summary

Acquired skill sets

Fraternity President, Secretary

Pi Kappa Phi - Susquehanna University

January 2018 - December 2019

One thing I never thought I would do is join a fraternity. Somehow at the start of my sophomore year I was convinced to join. This pretty much sums up the whole experience because I never expected anything that happened next. I immediately became president and had to lead an entire group of men through weekly executive council and chapter meetings, philanthropy and brotherhood events, and attend major events such as Pi Kap College for Chapter Officers in Pittsburgh, PA and the 51st Supreme Chapter in Chicago, Illinois.

After my time as president, I joined the executive council again as Secretary to help maintain the structure of the one previous. I kept chapter minutes weekly and played an important roll in implementing an app know as OurHouse to help with organization and accountability within the chapter. For my last semester, I became the social chair and planned weekly mixers and brotherhood events with other organizations on campus, as well as our Spring formal which ended up being cancelled by COVID-19.

Position Summary

Acquired skill sets

Contact Me
Please fill this form to leave a message.